top of page

I'm Back! Annnnnnd I made a dress (McCall's 8215)!!!

Well, hello my loves! It has truly been a while! I'll catch you up after we talk about this darling dress!!!


It's sundress season! When I bought McCall's 8215 pattern last year, I was drawn in by the illusion of a body suit that the bodice gave. Anything with a smoothing effect has my name written all over it. It was obviously best suited for quality knit, so I wasn't going to dive in until I had found the perfect fabric. I was extremely busy, so I felt no pressure to wait until the right time.


Now, let's go back in time. Almost two years ago, I was able to attend the grand opening of Melanated Fabrics brick & mortar store in Atlanta, GA. I was too excited for the trip and had no wish list as I walked into the store. The first fabric that caught my eye was this acid yellow and black zebra print knit. It was so yummy! Of course I left with a few yards.



I returned home and life happened. You know how that goes. If you've been following me for a while, then you know that I travel a lot for work. Just when I thought I was ready to settle down and make something for myself, I had a pretty horrific accident while away that turned the latter half of my 2022 into a blur. I'm truly thankful to still be here!


When things were pretty much back to normal, your girl was ready to sew!!!!!!!!! I pulled out the pattern and just like that day in the fabric store, my eyes went straight to that electric print!



Once I saw the simplicity of the pattern, I was ready to give it a go. I decided to go with view B. The length was just right for the look I desired. I highly recommend reading the documents at least twice before taking on any sewing project. That way, there's less chance for error. Case in point, I realized that I had to play a serious case of Tetris to cut all of the fabric pieces. Your girl cut it really close with this fabric!!! Lol!


For some reason, the pattern piece for the neck band was printed incorrectly. The sizes were compatible with a smaller size pattern. I thought the sizes were only printed incorrectly, but the excessive pull the neckband required confirmed that it was definitely too small. I was completely out of fabric but somehow I made it work. I'll be sure to correct that pattern piece before the next time.


Other than the neckband deficit, the only other adjustment I made was to extend the split of the skirt. Why????? Baby, it wasn't high enough! Ms. Bernie Wiley once told me that the split of a skirt could always be higher....and I love her for that! Lol! The original marking of the split for views B & C landed an inch above my knee. I decided to raise it by five additional inches. I loved it!!!



For the hem, I decided to blow the dust off my rolled hem foot. Honestly, I do not think I've ever used this particular foot on knit fabric. After multiple failed attempts to feed the fabric into the "rolled" segment of the foot, I found it best to serge the fabric beforehand. However, that increased thickness of the seams which also prevented completion of the hem. Eventually, I switched back to the universal presser foot and finished with a quarter inch hem.



I threw on a popping lippie and leather headband to seal the deal on this look! The skies were beautiful, so it only felt right to snap a few pictures in the park. If you're looking for a quick and fun make, then give this one a go. I'm pretty sure that I'll make this again....probably sooner than you think! How do you feel about this dress??? Please let me know in the comments! Talk to you soon! ~SSS







6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page